shrimp and millet...what is inspiring me through life.

Maybe no longer exists, the fact is I am truly obsessed with food. But food after all, is what truly connects us all. Food is ubiquitous. Breathing is involuntary reproducing is involuntary. And so I cook. 1 glass of wine out of time. Truth be told food is my diary and also what keeps me sane. For some reason or another graduate school has completely rocked my soul and the only thing that holds the key is understanding where my food comes from and where this food goes whether that is nursing my body or understanding how food waste contributes to the ecosystem the human capital and the society in which we all seem to thrive. I have signed off of social media. I am resolving to no longer be depressed. More on that later... But I'm going to hold on to the one thing that no matter what I thankfully can count on and that is about full crop in my kitchen and loved ones to share it with. So this blog is for you. I will be open. Bone appetit. This dish may be a bit bizarre. Causes for sipping wine. I also write this orderly meaning the amazing technology of my phone takes what I dictate and turns it into writing. This also means that I have to tell it when to end a sentence... Laugh. You may have assumed this was quinoa but alas I am poor so when I was strolling through Whole Foods today which was the first time I've actually been grocery shopping in over a month since I've lived predominantly off of 3 csa's throat fall. Anyway I was I believe and shopping and both cuz that's the best thing in your book and since I'm in graduate school and I'm really poor I compared to 598 pricing of quinoa to the dollar 68 pricing millet. Okay it's just kind of creepy there's somebody outside tying their shoe and staring in the window I've noticed them but they are moving on okay. Anyway this dish is with millet which I am quoting as the crunchy corny version of quinoa. Maybe I have not learn how to cook it properly yet as this was my first time, but the it like it is crunching. This dish is so delicious though and if I do admit I am a good cook and it gives me a lot of pleasure. Although the Millet is crunchy it absorbed the garlic and the mushrooms and onions I sauteed it with I added vegetable broth carrots shredded broccoli and then top it off with Kim. Perhaps the best part of this dish is the shrimp. Surprised I'm eating an animal sort of is shrimp an animal? The reason I eat meat call me a flexitarian call me a freaking call me a hypocritical vegetarian I don't need a label I'm going to eat what I like and for what I believe in. Meat should no longer be consumed in the fashion of the food system the way it is. However because 40% of the food that is grown harvested and distributed in the United States alone and gets wasted I believe it is also my prerogative to take food that would otherwise be going to waste and eat it. At Whole Foods today I learned that a lot of the food is composted but composting is not good enough. We are fishing our Waters to Extinction and then throwing it in a bin to be hauled off to an anaerobic digester and turned into biofuel I believe that this would have been better off in the sea. So I eat shrimp that is on sale and would otherwise be going to the composter. And the shrimp that I prepared I am 100% delighting in and I know how to cook it thanks to my mom. Olive oil high heat salt pepper throw in the clean deviled shrimp 2 minutes on each side. Add garlic sauté one extra minute and you are done it literally takes no longer than 5 minutes and it's nothing delicious. The garage, no I think that's enough for now have a good night.